FMP Experiments – Black and White or Colour or BOTH!?!

Having a dedicated look for your film is very important but I’ve got three choices to break down and show the pros the cons for each one.

Why am I having this issue? Why don’t I just be normal and stick with colour? These days, films are visually very similar. For this film, I want to try something new and not be boring. It is impossible to be original with the way a film looks but I want to try and add something that makes the film pop with interest.

The two simple choices are black and white, or colour. If I choose black and white, I’m paying homage to the classic detective films of the 1940s and 50s. Black and white is still being used in film today, to either have a simplistic style or in tribute to older films. But it might become too plain and boring as there are countless black and white films so it’s nothing new or original.Black and White.png

If I go with colour, I have an opportunity to play with as many colour styles as possible. I have a lot of leeway when it comes to colour as I can change the RGB’s, exposure, temperature, whites, blacks, saturation, vibrance etc. There are many choices when using colour, but with black and white, I can only change the brightness and contrast of the image.ooooooo, spiral.jpg

If I do keep it coloured, I’ll need a good enough reason to and justify why I made this decision. If I change the image colour wise, by changing the vibrance or anything that affects the image visually, I’ll also need a good reason to because if I don’t, I’ll be marked down because I have no goal.

Most likely, I’ll merge black and white with colour, giving it a ‘Sin City’ style where parts of the image will be coloured and everything else is black and white. This is a very stylised look and will be hard to pull off but with time and effort, it’ll look very clean and cool. And with films mostly being either black and white, or colour, merging the two will be original and unique as only a hand full of films have done this.Black and White and Colour.png

The upsides to this look are that it can draw the eyes of the audience to things you want them to see, something important like an object that is crucial to the story. I’ve planned I’ll be colourizing the blood at the end and the case file that is shown throughout the film, which are things that move the story forward and foreshadow something later in the film.

The downside to this effect is the time it’ll take to pull it off, as it’ll need a massive chunk of post-production time reserved to give the effort and dedication it’ll need to be convincing. This will mean I’ll have to lock my edit earlier than expected to finish the style of the shots. But if I want more time dedicated to editing, then black and white, or colour, would be better options.

The last thing I want to do is be boring. I want my film to pop and be visually interesting – I won’t be able to do that if it’s a bland-looking image. Which is why I’ll be going with black and white with colour.

Leave a Reply

